Food

Baking Kinda Day

Today was a lazy day. I was meant to unpack my boxes and bags which had arrived early last week from grahamstown (but that hasn’t happened yet ). So why not bake and satisfy my sweet tooth. Eclairs were my choice for the day. I usually don’t indulge in sweet treats but I have not paid the gym a visit either… so why not indulge and gym tomorrow. Let me tell you at the offset I’m not a professional baker but rather a hazard in the kitchen  (I’m quite accident prone). However, if I want to learn I need to practice.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  • 125g butter
  • 1 cup cake flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 500ml fresh cream
  • icing sugar to taste
  • brown & white cooking chocolate

Method

Melt the butter in a pot with the water and when it comes to boil add the flour and mix well till it forms a ball. Remove from the heat and let it cool slightly.img-20161118-wa0001

Then put the mixture in the bowl of your electric mixer and on high-speed add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Drop spoonfuls of mixture on a well-greased tray or pipe into fingers with a nozzle.

20161117_134107.jpg

(I chose to put mine with a spoon )

Bake in a very hot oven until eclairs have puffed up and turned golden. Remove from the oven and slit each puff . Allow to cool.

20161117_142552.jpg

While you wait for the puffs to cool melt chocolate and drizzle over each puff. Beat cream till stiff and sweeten with icing sugar.

Fill each puff  generously with the cream mixture (custard can also be used) and chill. Spread the melted chocolate over the eclair.

20161117_175924.jpg

Enjoy and don’t count the calories. If you use other ingredients or toppings. Please free to comment below. Happy reading

Leave a Reply

